top of page

Reagan ECHS Internship

Updated: May 15, 2019


Shelves that I helped make at Reagan ECHS

From January 2019 to May 2019, I was an apprentice teacher and also an intern at Reagan Early College High School. I worked with Eric Shaffer, who is the engineering teacher, robotics coach, and makerspace lead there. I had previously been an intern at a makerspace at Magellan International School, which is a K-8 school, so I was interested to see how different Reagan's makerspace was. I found out that Reagan's makerspace focused mostly on VEX Robotics and 3D printing.


My main task as an intern was to help organize the space. Ann Richards School for Young Women Leaders donated boxes of VEX Robotics pieces, so I sorted all of them into separate containers. Eventually, we ran out of shelf space to put the pieces, so I helped create new shelves. It was my first time using a table saw, so it was both scary and exciting.





bottom of page