top of page

"Get Well Soon" Card

Updated: Apr 29, 2019

My Maker mentor, Rich, got in an accident and broke his hip. When Shelly reached out to me and the rest of my cohort to create a card for him, I volunteered to make it.


I looked online for inspiration and found a design that I liked. I used Silhouette Studio to recreate the design and a Silhouette Cameo to cut it out using cardstock.


Completed "Get Well Soon" card

I wanted the words "get well soon Rich" to be attached to the white border so that I would not have to individually glue letters to the card. This was difficult to do because in addition to attaching the letters to the border, I also needed letters to be attached to each other so that it would be less prone to rip.


I achieved this by clicking on "Object" and then selecting "Convert to Path". Then I ungrouped the text so that I could separate the letters. This allowed me to individually weld letters together.


As the finishing touch, I cut out an adhesive bandage out of cardstock and glued it to the card.


The completed file can be found here.

bottom of page