top of page

Pi Day Invitation Card

Updated: Apr 30, 2019

The Reagan ECHS math department and I wanted to celebrate Pi Day, so we thought of different ways to make that day enjoyable for both students and teachers. Here are the things that I created for Pi Day.

In this post, I will talk about how I created a card to remind my students about the pi memorization contest.


Pi Memorization Contest Card

Reagan ECHS planned to have a school-wide pi memorization contest. The math teachers at Reagan ECHS had all of their students write down as many digits of pi that they knew. The top three students from each math class were eligible to compete in the school-wide contest. The winner of the school-wide contest from each grade level won a pizza party for their math class.


I wanted my 9th grade Algebra I class to enjoy a pizza party, so I wanted to do everything I could to convince the three students eligible for the school-wide contest to actually participate in it. I decided to make invitation cards to remind them about the event.


All three students liked the anime My Hero Academia, which features All Might, the #1 hero. I thought that the three students would be more willing to participate in the pi memorization contest if I included a reference to the show. I created the cards using cardstock and a Silhouette Cameo.

When I gave the cards to each student, they seemed excited since I included All Might in the design. In the end, two out of three students participated in the school-wide contest. One of the students memorized the most digits of pi out of the freshmen class, and he won our Algebra I class a pizza party!


Reflection

I need to adjust the settings of the Silhouette Cameo's blade if I want to create cards with small details. I accidentally ripped out pieces of the letters because they were not cut correctly.


To view the posts for the other Pi Day creations, please click on the links below.

bottom of page