top of page

Vinyl Cutter Workshop

Updated: May 7, 2019

After learning how to use a Silhouette Cameo to make custom stickers, I went on a sticker frenzy! I started making stickers for my computer, phone, co-workers, and friends.

I needed to share my love for the vinyl cutter with someone, so Garrett and I hosted a vinyl cutter workshop on October 31st, 2019 in the UTeach workroom. We first had them download Silhouette Studio, which is the software that the Silhouette Cameo uses. We then showed how they could import images and trace them to create stickers.


This workshop was a success! We had a turnout of 8 people. I think this workshop was popular because you usually have to pay $3 to $4 to buy a sticker online, and they are more expensive if they are custom made. Attendees made custom stickers for free.

Here are pictures of stickers that the attendees created.

Reflection

Hosting this workshop showed me that I still have a lot to learn about vinyl cutting. It benefitted me because I know what areas I still need to work on before I try to introduce vinyl cutting into my future classroom. For example, Phil made stickers that required him to pick out a lot of negative space. I handed him an X-acto knife for that, but that is definitely not the safest way to get the job done. I now know that there are specific weeding tools such as these ones for picking out details. He also had trouble peeling off the vinyl and putting it on his computer because it kept sticking together. I now know that you can use transfer tape to easily put a sticker on an object.

bottom of page